various

Six Pretty Covers of Classics I Own

Publishers like to publish books with different covers. Just look at how many different editions of Harry Potter or The Hunger Games are currently out there. Often classics have even more different editions out. It can be hard to choose which edition to buy. Some don’t choose and just buy them all of their favorite classics. I have seen people with over 70 different editions of Alice in the Wonderland. That is a big and gorgeous collection.

In this post I want to show you some of my favorite covers of classics I own. Please share in the comments below what your favorite classic covers are!

1.  Matilda by Roald Dahl

Roald Dahl’s BFG was the first book I read on my own, and after that I read his other books. Matilda must be the most well known of his children’s books. So when I saw this edition of it I knew I wanted it for my birthday. It is a gorgeous edition.

2.  The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien


The Dutch copies were the first classics I bought myself as a teen. It was around the time the movies were coming out. They only had a large bind-up so they ordered these copies for me (along with The Hobbit). I was young so they are a bit banged up and I had a very humid room so the pages show that. But I still love the covers of these. As well as my new copy of the Lord of the Rings.

3.  The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

The big one is the version I mentioned above. It’s as pretty as those of The Lord of the Rings. The smaller one is so pretty in leather but easily damaged. No long nails near this book.

4.  The Complete Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

I saw this book around the time the third season of BBC Sherlock was on tv. I was on a Sherlock high and I wanted to read it. This edition is pretty and so heavy.

5.  Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Other Stores by Lewis Caroll

Another Barnes and Nobles leatherbound. It is pretty and though I know the basic story of Alice in Wonderland through movies I have never read this book. I need to remedy that soon.

6.  Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

I got this one really cheap and I just really like the drawn figure on it and the colors. I’d love to get Pride and Prejudice in this edition as well.

12 thoughts on “Six Pretty Covers of Classics I Own

  1. Omg I LOVE your Alice edition!! I really want to buy a nice Alice edition one day…there’s this green one with really quirky art and fajdklsad I need it. (Alice in Wonderland is like my favourite classic but I don’t even own the book. 😛 ) And that Sherlock is also GORGEOUS.
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

