various

Opinions: Posting Frequency and Discussions

Do you ever have those blog posts that you want to type up, but you struggle to find the right words every time you start the blog post? This post was one of those for me. There were so many times that I opened up this post to stare at it blankly. Paragraphs I did end up typing ended up deleted. Now if this was a heavy or tricky topic I would understand this of myself.  It is not.  I think it ihas to do with doubt which has a bit to do with this post.

Asking myself questions about what I post and how often I post is something I’ve been doing in the last few weeks. As you might have noticed I had a few posting days when I started this blog. I would post top ten tuesday on Tuesday of course. Other posts like lists, recommendations or discussion posts would go up on Thursday and Saturday. Later I added on the Sunday post. Surrounding that I would post my reviews and monthly wrap ups.

Lately I’ve been wondering about my posting frequency. Some weeks I’d post every day, other weeks just on those days. When I posted every day I would feel I posted too much. If I only posted on those days I would feel I did not post enough reviews. Starting this month though I changed my posting days to Tuesday (ttt), Friday and Sunday (Sunday post). I feel that gives me more room to post more reviews during the week if I have them. Though in my planning (that I have ready up to January) I have played with this. I have weeks with the old posting days when I had more things to post in a week because of wrap ups for instance.

Thinking about this all did make me wonder how you all feel about how often you prefer to see a post from the blogs that you follow.  And do you prefer a blog to have the same posting days and stick to that.? And how do you deal with your own posting frequency? I´m just looking for some opinions and preferences to take into account next year

Adding on to that I have felt somewhat insecure regarding discussion-topic posts. Though I do have a list of some topics I’d like to do, I would like to hear from you guys what kind of topics you’d still like to see being discussed here.

7 thoughts on “Opinions: Posting Frequency and Discussions

  1. First!
    You should post however much you feel you can. Every day would be too much for me to write, but hey: reading other people’s posts is easier! You do need to balance it with your life, and time, and also spend some time interacting on other blogs that you enjoy. If you posted once a week that would be fine too! As long as they posts are fun 🙂
    Space your posts. I often write 6-12 film reviews in advance, so I can write a few in a weekend and then just relax 🙂 That would be 2-4 weeks of posts for me.
    As for discussions, how about non-english lit vs english lit, or reading translated work in general. Or themed books, and how well they handle the theme (like books about cats or catlike people, or about runaway kids). Or whether it matters if a book is written by a man or a woman?
    You’ll come up with something 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Very true.
      I’ve been working ahead with the normal blog posts. I’m somewhere in December at the moment and I have everything planned out until January. But I don’t read fast enough to review ahead lately, haha. And in the weeks I read a lot I don’t tend to have a lot of time in between finishing the books and working to actually write the reviews right away. Hoping to write a few tomorrow though.

      Yeah I’ve been thinking of waiting until the translated version of Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt comes out and read that and see how it holds up to the original Dutch version seeing as they changed the setting and all. Some good ideas though. I’ll have to write them down and see how I can make them work for me. 🙂 Thanks. ❤

      Like

  2. The blogs that I follow post at least once a week, I myself would love it if I could post once a day but life and my inability to schedule gets in the way!

    At the end of the day when you post is when you want too, what makes you comfortable, it is your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is true. Thanks.
      I envy those that are so organised they can post every day. I have been working more on scheduling things ahead but some months I’m better at that than others.

      Like

  3. I think you should post as much as you want to post! It’s your blog and you can do whatever you want with it 🙂 I love reading your posts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

