various

How are you doing, NaNoWriMo participants?

November is a month well known online for NaNoWriMo. NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month in which you attempt to write a novel (or at least 50 000) words in a month. In previous years I attempted this as well, but I have not succeeded yet. This year I decided not to try. I only had ideas but no plans. I’m also at that point where I haven’t decided if I want to continue writing. Though I have to say that seeing everyone talk about their writing makes me itch to write again.

Today we are at about the half way point of the month. And so I decided to do a check-up post for those of you doing NaNoWriMo. I know a lot of us book bloggers are also writers. Sometimes this writing month can be quite hectic. Trying to find the time to write in between working, school and all your other responsibilities can be really hard. Let alone when your inspiration leaves you hanging out to dry. Taking care of yourself sometimes gets pushed back.

So let me ask you a couple of questions. Though I know you all know this, during the hecticness of this month it’s easy to forget.

Are you drinking enough?
It’s so important to drink enough. Not enough drinking can give you headaches. Headaches + writing = not good. So please drink enough water during your writing sessions. So have a bottle of water wherever you are writing.

Are you eating enough? Is it more than just snacks?
I don’t know about you guys, but when I’m hungry I can’t focus on anything, let alone writing. Though snacks are great for the quick moments, it won’t give you enough energy for the day. So please don’t skip breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Are you sleeping enough?
Without enough sleep your fingers can’t keep up with you.

And most importantly, are you still having fun?
Fun is the most important part. If you aren’t enjoying writing it will only become a struggle. So when you are feeling frustrated, take a break.Β  Fifteen minutes or a day. It’s okay. Watch your favorite tv show, go out with friends or your partner, etc. You’ll write faster when you are enjoying yourself. And sometimes you need to step away to be able to return fresh and continue on.

Remember, no matter what your current word count is, you still have half a month to achieve what you want. I believe in you all! And if you need someone to cheer you on, I’ll be right here.

11 thoughts on “How are you doing, NaNoWriMo participants?

    1. Oh yeah, 50 000 intimidates me as well. But it can be done. And even if you don’t manage it at least you’ve tried and have experienced it for the next time. That is what I told myself the 2 times I tried (and stopped halfway through, haha).

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This is a great post! I can’t write when I’m hungry either, so I try to eat enough (and of course drink enough!) And indeed taking breaks is okay! Even though I’m behind and really want to ‘win’ NaNo, I don’t want writing to become a chore!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s another nanowrimo that I am not writing at all! Except blog posts. I do have some stuff to write for our Star Trek fanfic site, but we just havent written anything in November! It’s like the devil is playing with it πŸ˜‰
    I usually just have to sit down and shut out all distractions. And of course we do have the puppy now, so I guess that explains the lack of concentration. Dog is being too cute all the time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, funny how that always happens. πŸ˜‰

      Shutting out distractions is always good. Internet can seem mighty appealing when you are writing.
      Dogs are horrible like that. They should come with a warning label. πŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

