Sunday Post

Sunday Post #19 – Friday the 13th

sunday post

The Sunday post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. This is a bit of a recap post of the week where you can link to the posts you made this week, share news, and even what you have been reading. Some categories might change per Sunday.

Personal

This week we had Friday the 13th, and boy did we feel it. That day some devastating blows were dealt out around the world. Japan had an earthquake and a small tsunami, Paris and Beirut dealt with terrorist attacks. It was a sad day. I have a lot of opinions but this is not the place to voice them. I am keeping everyone in my thoughts.

The week was otherwise okay for me. Though I preordered Winter I didn’t get it until two days after the release. I didn’t really have time to read those two days I didnt have Winter anyway as I worked those days. I still haven’t finished Winter, I’m about halfway through. I’m working this weekend so I haven’t had much time to continue. And after work I had headaches.

I did bake a bunch of things as I still had some of those baking pre made packages that were nearing the end date. So we had monchou pie and chocolate cake. I’m never making chocolate cake from one of those packages again. It tasted nothing like chocolate. I’ll be sticking to making everything from scratch again. It tastes so much better.

I also took some pictures of how my shelves look at the moment over on instagram.

Blog Posts This Week

TTT #24 – in which I made a top ten of book to movie adaptions I still needed to watch/or am looking forward to
Liebster Award #2 – in which I answered some questions I was nominated for

Reviews This Week

★Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms 1) by Morgan Rhodes

Read This Week

rebel spring

Currently Reading

winter

Reading Next

Gathering Darkness

20 thoughts on “Sunday Post #19 – Friday the 13th

  1. Nice bookshelves! And enjoy Winter- I know that one’s a hot one right now. 🙂 I have to say those Falling Kingdoms covers are nice too, very well done.

    Our thoughts and prayers are with all our European friends at this difficult time. Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ha ha. From scratch is the way to go! I love baking and as a kid I often baked from those packages, but not anymore though. Not just because of taste, but also that feeling when you bake the most awesome cake from scratch! (Or my new favorite, chocolate dipped “roomsoesjes”)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I used to bake a lot from scratch as well but then had to stop as I had to loose weight for my liver. And then we got a lot of those packages (in christmas packages and such), and baking from scratch seemed daunting, haha.
      Ohw that sounds good!

      Like

  3. Nice, crowded bookshelves 🙂 Baking from scratch is the best way to go, and I can’t wait to finally read Cinder, that’s been sitting on my shelves for… some time. Enjoy your weekend !

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s funny, I used to bake a lot. And some seriously delicious stuff too. But when I made packaged stuff for people they loved it. It’s great when you are in a hurry and need a cake quickly!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess some people don’t know any better than the taste of the packaged stuff. But yeah it is great when you are in a hurry. Though some things you can make just as quickly from scratch. 🙂

      Like

  5. Love your shelves and how you have them organized! I’m definitely more of a fan of baking from scratch (except for brownie mixes for some reason). Don’t even get me started on the canned icing! I love the cover from Winter and am glad that you were at least occupied while you had to wait the 2 days for it! My goal this year was to read or listen to Cinder but I’m not sure I’m going to make it. I’m still recovering from an overload in review books! Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!
      This weekend a cook made brownies from scratch at my work and they were delicious so it is worth to try and make them from scratch as well. I might try that next month.

      I hope you’ll be able to get through all your review books and get to Cinder. 🙂

      Like

  6. Good looking shelves, is that meerkats I see at the top of one?? I got Winter on Friday even though it was “delivered” on Wednesday. I don’t think I will start reading for a while yet but will be reading all four books back to back!

    Have a good week x

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh… it didn’t even occur to me that the Paris attacks happened on Friday 13th, as it was already Saturday (Australian time) when they happened.

    Love your shelves. Mine look very boring in comparison.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

