reviews

Book Review – Falling Kingdoms

falling kingdomsBook: Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms 1) by Morgan Rhodes
Release Date: December 11th 2012Genre: Fantasy
Edition: Dutch edition released by Luitingh-Sijthoff in 2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Goodreads

Synopsis

In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed… and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

It’s the eve of war…. Choose your side.

Review

Falling Kingdoms is one of the fantasy series that I have been hearing a lot of people rave about this year. Unfortunately I felt this first installment didn’t quite live up to the expectations. However I do feel that this series could have a lot of potential.

One of the things that struck me quickly was how many characters get thrown at us in the first few chapters that weren’t even that long. Though they were easy to separate from one another, I feel that it was a bit too much for the start of a book, and I would have preferred to have followed one character first for a few chapters before adding in the other characters.

Another point I have is that while the plot is solid in the last half of the book, the first half is a bit slow. Next to that there is very little surprise in the overall plot. I will give the author that she isn’t scared to kill of a character. One that I actually liked. Hopefully this will stay this way throughout the rest of the series. Well not that she kills of characters that I like but that she isn’t afraid to make hard decisions in the plot.

I quite liked the world. I’m interested in the magic system and I’d like to learn more about it.

As for the characters, I had a bit of a hard time connecting with them. I don’t dislike any of them, but I am also not in love with any of them. The two that I liked most were Theon and Magnus. But Magnus was a bit problematic when it came to romance so I felt a bit weird liking him as a character. A lot of the characters have a lot of room for development, and I hope that this development will be present in the future books. I think I could come to really like Cleo and Jonas with a bit more development.

Of course there was some romance in this book. I already touched upon Magnus’ romance. I am a bit mixed with how I feel about it. On the one hand I like that the author dared to put it in initially (though it creeps me out), but then it became clear that it wasn’t quite as daring. As for the other romance with Cleo and Theon. This one happened too fast for me. They hadn’t even talked that much. They might have been attracted to each other, even liked each other, but love was a bit too big of a jump for me.

5 thoughts on “Book Review – Falling Kingdoms

  1. I remember feeling the same way you did when I read this book. I found Cleo and Theon’s romance came out of nowhere, I wish they were given time to interact more. I hope you enjoy the second book more!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

