Read-a-longs and Read-a-thons · Wrap Up

October Wrap Up – A Combined Wrap Up

monthly wrap up

It’s that time of the month again to wrap things up.

In October I set up various goals and participated in various things. I decided I did not want to post wrap up’s for all these things seperately. So instead I decided to combine all my wrap up’s in one post. So below you will find my montly wrap up. my Halloween reading wrap up, my Grishareadalong wrap up and my Trees of Reverie Read-a-Thon wrap up.

So let’s get to it.

Reading Goals

# Read a 100 Books

October7 (and 3 novella’s)
Total – 99/100

Despite having a week where I didn’t read at all, I don’t think I did too bad reading wise. Things have been busy after our week away but I still managed to read.

  1. The Sword of Summer (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard 1) by Rick Riordan – 4 stars
  2. It’s a Wonderful Death by Sarah J. Schmitt – 3,5 stars
  3. Avatar: The Last Airbender: The Promise Part Two by Gene Luen Yang – 3 stars
  4. Siege and Storm (The Grisha 2) by Leigh Bardugo – 4 stars
  5. Shutter by Courtney Alameda – 4 stars
  6. Ruin and Rising (The Grisha 3) by Leigh Bardugo – 4 stars
  7. Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl 1) by Eoin Colfer – 4 stars
    The Tailor (The Grisha 1,5) by Leigh Bardugo – 3 stars
    Little Knife (The Grisha) by Leigh Bardugo – 3 stars
    The Too-Clever Fox (The Grisha) by Leigh Bardugo – 3 stars

# Reviews
Below you can find the reviews I posted this month.
The Sword of Summer / The Wee Free Men / Shadow and Bone / It’s a Wonderful Death / Siege and Storm / Shutter

# Read all owned books of series you have started (owned books as of February 2015)
Owned books read – 19/34
Series of owned books – 10/19

And again, no books read for this goal like last month. So many new books that have been coming out and such that I find it hard to pick them up. I can’t promise it will get better next month.

# Read more by Dutch authors in the fantasy genre
5/12
See the above goal.


Halloween Reading

At the end of September I posted a huge list of books I’d like to read for Halloween this year. Obviously this list was a bit too hopeful. Maybe if I hadn’t done the other things like the grisha readalong or reading new releases  that came in right away I could have done a lot better.

The books I read of the list were:

  1. The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett
  2. Shutter by Courtney Alameda

So I still have a lot of those books left. I failed a bit. I’m going to see if I can get through some of these in November instead since I still really want to read them.


Grishareadalong

One of the things I did this month was the Grishareadalong organised by Dutch pubisher Blossom Books where we read The Grisha trilogy in preperation of the Dutch release of Six of Crows. I did not reread Shadow and Bone for this. Despite that I did fall behind because I decided to read some new releases first and because we were away for a bit, and I did not read that week. I still finished the trilogy though and I read the novella’s (though not the Demon in the Woods as that is only in a specific edition of one of the books).

I really enjoyed reading this trilogy and I can’t wait to start Six of Crows!

The enthusiasm of everyone was great as well. Though I did not really participate in the challenges that much it was fun to see how everyone was super excited and how original everyone was.


Trees of Reverie Read-a-Thon

A last minute decision was to do the Trees of Reverie read-a-thon. I thought it would be a good motivation to read more in the last two weeks of October. It didn’t quite work out that way. I read, but not more than I would have read otherwise. I had to work a lot, and when I was home I was so tired I got very little reading done.

Total Pages Read – 1421 pages
Books Finished – 4 books

2 thoughts on “October Wrap Up – A Combined Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

