Read-a-longs and Read-a-thons

Trees of Reverie Read-a-Thon / Update 01

I posted about the Trees of Reverie Read-a-Thon last week and thought it was about time I posted an update on my daily reading so far. It could be better, but it also could be worse. Sarah from Trees of Reverie also always does daily bookish challenges. I haven’t been keeping up with them daily, but I thought I’d post my response to some of them in this same post as well. I don’t like doing so many seperate posts for them.

I wish I’d been able to keep up and be more interactive with everyone else like I used to do when I was a lot more active on Tumblr, but I just don’t have the time to constantly go to ALL the sites. Wish I could. I need unlimited time in a day.

Reading Update

Day 01 – 0 pages
Day 02 – 163 pages
Day 03 – 0 pages
Day 04 – 125 pages
Day 05 – 367 pages
Day 06 – 150 pages

Total Pages Read – 805 pages
Books Read – Siege and Storm (The Grisha 2) by Leigh Bardugo/Shutter by Courtney Alameda
Books Finished – 2
Current Read – Ruin and Rising (The Grisha 3) by Leigh Bardugo

So as you can see my total isn’t super bad, but I’ve read more in read-a-thons. Unfortunately I discovered that I had a lot more hours to work than I thought. I mean have to work 5 days but usually only short shifts if I have one of those weeks. But now I have long shifts. And when I get home my husband would like some attention as well. Or if I have a late shift (I came home around midnight last night) I just want to go straight to bed. But the read-a-thon is a nice motivation


Daily Bookish Challenges

Day 01
Create a TBR list and set some goals for the Read-A-Thon!

Now I already touched upon this in my post last week but I’ll just repeat it again.

  • Finish The Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo
  • Read the short stories of The Grisha trilogy
  • Read 2 books from my Halloween reading (including Shutter by Courtney Alameda)

Day 03
Create some book spine poetry!

A Thousand Pieces of You
(Will) Never Fade
(into) the Darkest Part of the Forest


Day 05
A curfew has been placed on book purchases for the remainder of the year and you are only allowed to purchase TEN more books for the rest of 2015. Which books will you buy?

Nooo. How could you be so cruel? I might say these ten but, let’s be honest, it will likely change in a few weeks

  1. Winter (The Lunar Chronicles 4) by Marissa Meyer
  2. In the Afterlight (The Darkest Minds 3) by Alexandra Bracken
  3. Ten Thousand Skies Above You (Firebird 2) by Claudia Gray
  4. De Stad van de Alchemist (De Verborgen Universiteit 3) by Natalie Koch
  5. Vicious by Victoria Schwab
  6. Drug and Drop by CLAMP
  7. XXXHolic Rei by CLAMP
  8. House of Many Ways by Diana Wynne Jones
  9. The Girl of Fire and Thorns (ebook collection) by Rae Carson
  10. Child of a Hidden Sea by A.M. Dellamonica

Day 06
Introduce us to your favourite author and their books!

jonathan stroudMeet Jonathan Stroud. He’s the author of the Bartimaeus and Lockwood & Co. series. Two of my favorite series.

Next to being an awfully friendly person as I have seen on Twitter and Facebook chats, his writing is great which is what matters most. He can create great worlds where the fantasy or paranormal bit is a part of it. It isn’t hidden away. There are layers.

His characters are often witty which is what I love. Bartimaeus and Nathaniel are two of my absolute favorite characters, especially when they interact with one another. Their banter is amazing.

One thought on “Trees of Reverie Read-a-Thon / Update 01

Leave a Reply

