Book Haul

Birthday Haul 2015

birthday haul

As you might have gathered, last week on Monday it was my birthday. I turned 28 years young. I’m trying not to feel old.

Of course I got books. It’s the only thing I asked for. But I also got some other things. I thought it might be fun to make a post about some of the things I got for my birthday as I am pretty happy with most of it. It is also my way of saying thanks to those by showing off what I got. And at the end of the post of course I’ll show the books I got and the books I’ve bought with my birthday money. Because that is all you really want to see. Let’s be honest.

So onto the birthday haul that consists mostly of books and cat things. ❤ Two of my favorite things.

On the first picture is a bit of a mix I got from the inlaws. The bag is filled with a special kind of kruidnoten. The t-shirt I got from my lovely online bestie in Canada. Don’t mind my ugly face in this. We’d just gotten back from our trip to Maastricht when I took this. I also got a gift card from my husband’s grandma.

I also got a bunch of adult colouring books. One from the inlaws and the others from my parents. Clearly I’ll have enough to colour for the next year. Do any of you like to use the colouring books? Which are your favorites?

My mom just had to pay for these. I’m in love with these shirts. Obviously the red one has a picture of cats. The middle one has cat heads and the right one has dog heads. They are so cute! The bracelet was also a gift from my mom for my birthday. Other than than I got some money and shower gel and such from my parents.

These gifts I got from my husband. Look at that tin of tiny Game of Thrones funko pops! And I am completely in love with the cat necklace. I’ve been wearing it every day. It’s super cute! Other than that you see the dvd of the Penguins movie. I also got a little cat hanger for a necklace I don’t have, haha. And there is a cute cat mobile hanger. I can’t put it on my phone, but it will probably go with some keys.

Books

When I ask for books I tend to send my husband my wishlist on a site so he can pick a few books from it. It works better than sending him a list in word because he’ll get the wrong editions, haha. I like to be in control of my book gifts. I know, it’s a problem.

Matilda by Roald Dahl
This book was not on that wishlist, but I saw it pass me by online really cheap for a limited time and basically demanded the husband to order it for my birthday. Don’t judge me. Look at how pretty it is!

Thief of Time (Discworld 26, Death 5) by Terry Pratchett
I finally have this so I can hopefully finish reading the Death collection by the end of the year.

Empire of Ivory (Temeraire 4) by Naomi Novik
The fourth book of this series I was still missing. As some of you might remember, I bought the first three and fifth one second hand earlier this year.
The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black
I’ve been wanting to try a Holly Black book and this seems like a great place to start. I love the orange version of this cover.

The Chronicles of Chrestomanci (volumes 1 and 2) by Diana Wynne Jones
These are bind-ups of the first four books. Volume 1 has Charmed Life and The Life of Christopher Grant. Volume 2 has The Magicians of Caprona and Witch Week
Ever since I read Howl’s Moving Castle I’ve been interested in Diana Wynne Jones other books. These little pockets are so cute.

So then in Maastricht I took the birthday money with me that I got from my parents. I already knew I was going to go to the bookstore in the church there, Boekhandel Dominicanenkerk, and buy books. I’ll hopefully get around to doing a post about the book store later on in the week.

★ The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien
I saw this book on the shelf and I had to have it. I already own the books in three seperate editions but mine are 10+ years old and from a period in my life I didn’t take as good care of my books as I do now, and it really shows at the pages. The cover is so soft!


Tolkien, a Dictionary by David Day
This was another one that caught my eye. Look at how pretty. And the inside has such pretty illustrations.

★ The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
I’d seen this version of The Hobbit when I got the other two but all the copies there were damaged. When we went in the next day there were a few new ones added that looked much better and so I got this. It is so pretty too. *.* So happy with these books.

Red Rising (Red Rising 1) by Pierce Brown
I feel like it’s about time I have a go at this book. For the most part I hear good things about it.
Avatar: the Last Airbender: The Promise Part 3 by Gene Luen Yang
This was one that we still needed to complete this one so I got it for me and my husband.
Avatar: the Last Airbender: The Search Part 1 by Gene Luen Yang
This is one that we really wanted to read so I got it for us as well.

I hope you enjoyed seeing my birthday haul.

19 thoughts on “Birthday Haul 2015

  1. Yay for birthdays and Dianne Wynne-Jones! Chrestomanci is awesome. I still have to get mine in English, but I read them as a child in Dutch. Mine will be featuring in my bookshelf tour next month.
    Awesome gifts. I too had my eye on the dog head shirt: it’s chihuahua after all.
    Congratz, and van harte.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Woo, lots and lots of fab presents!!! I am on my second copy of the Lord of the Rings too, I’d bought it as three separate books in my early teens back in *whispers* 1993 and they are a little rough round the edges. Now I have a pretty (and heavy) combined omnibus.

    Thanks for sharing your awesome haul!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

