reviews

Book Review – The Wee Free Men

Book: The Wee Free Men (Discworld 30, Tiffany Aching 1) by Terry Pratchett
Release Date: 2003
Genre: Fantasy
Reading Format and Edition: paperback by Turtleback Books in 2004.
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Untitled

Goodreads

Synopsis

A nightmarish danger threatens from the other side of reality . . . Armed with only a frying pan and her common sense, young witch-to-be Tiffany Aching must defend her home against the monsters of Fairyland. Luckily she has some very unusual help: the local Nac Mac Feegle– aka the Wee Free Men– a clan of fierce, sheep-stealing, sword-wielding, six-inch-high blue men.

Together they must face headless horsemen, ferocious grimhounds, terrifying dreams come true, and ultimately the sinister Queen of the Elves herself. . . .

The Wee Free Men is the first novel of the young adult collection Tiffany Aching that is set within Discworld. Previous to this I have read a few other Discworld novels, and I was curious to see how this would hold up. But it certainly does.

As always it is interesting to see what this collection adds to the world of Discworld. It adds a lot. It gives us a different species, monsters and another dimension. I also found it great to see the world alongside Tiffany, a child. It gives it a tad lighter feel than some of the other Discworld novels. However it still gives those punches. Those lines that made you think. There is also great humor in this book.

Tiffany was a great character. She’s smart, intuitive, and curious as children often are. She is also very practical. But she certainly isn’t perfect in anyway. She admits to faults, like how she feels about her brother for instance, and she makes mistakes. The Nac Mac Feegle were a great addition and I loved their interactions with Tiffany and her brother.

However much I loved all of that, there were a few things that made me rate it only four stars. I found the middle dragged a little. Together with that, the chapters were a tad on the long side. On the other hand, this one actually has chapters compared to other Discworld novels that have none. There were a few dream sequences nearing the end that I found a tad confusing in places.

In general though this book gave me warm and fuzzy feelings. Looking forward to reading the other books in the Tiffany Aching arc.

10 thoughts on “Book Review – The Wee Free Men

  1. So I own this and kind of want to read this BUUUUUT I’M WORRIED. I have only read one Discworld graphic novel, because the idea of so many books terrifies me and I just don’t want to commit. >_< But I've heard this is more YA and someone told me it was a good place to start. Do you think it would make sense sans reading other Discworld books?!?
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. One of the good things about Discworld is that you don’t need to read it in order for the most part. It has different story arcs so you can pick and choose what you want to start with. I think Tiffany Aching can be a great place to start reading in Discworld. I think it borders on young adult/middle grade. With the Shepherd’s Crown out it now has 5 books so that makes it a bit more manageable then 41, haha.

      Other good places to start would be Death story arc (Mort) or the Witches story arc (Equal Rites).

      Discworld scared me too until I researched it and found what I was most interested in in this series. It is a life reading goal for me though to read them all, haha.

      Like

Leave a Reply

