Sunday Post

Sunday Post #13

sunday post

The Sunday post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. This is a bit of a recap post of the week where you can link to the posts you made this week, share news, and even what you have been reading. Some categories might change per Sunday.

⚜

Personal

I’m happy to report that I am feeling a lot better than last week. My voice came back properly around Wednesday, and though shouting is not advised, I can at least talk without a huge effort. Still easily tired, but that should even out. I also made an appointment with the speech therapist for next week. So hopefully that will help as well.

Other than that my week has been okay, mostly. I worked Monday, Thursday and the weekend (when this posts I still have to work the late afternoon/evening shift).It’s my third weekend in a row. ._.

On Tuesday morning my husband went to grab my bike and it wasn’t there. I tend to put my bike in front of our house, locked. We can go through the back but it’s really dark there if I come home late, and I am a little iffy on the neighbours behind us. Plus it’s a weird construction back there, and I’d just rather not go there. But yeah, my bike was gone. So that sucked, but it’s really old. I’ve had it since I started high school I think so that was when I was 12-13 and I’m turning 28 in a good week so… My husband went for a walk around the neighbourhood later though and found it in the park. They had stolen my bags from the back but other than that it wasn’t useful to them as it was locked. We now got an extra padlock to attach my bike to our bench at the front. There was that.

That evening I decided I’d redo a section of my book shelves. I put most of my hardcovers together and sorted the paperbacks by height. It looks neat but I had to break up a few series so I’m not sure I’m going to keep it like this for long. I don’t like breaking up series.

I created a facebook page for my blog. You can find it here or in the sidebar. I’d really appreciate a look and a like. πŸ™‚

A lot of packages have been arriving here lately. I pre ordered some books like Magnus Chase. I’ve been really lucky with pre orders this year as most of them I’ve gotten a few days before release. I got Fairest a week before the release for instance. And the other packages are presents my husband has been ordering for my birthday. My birthday is October 12th. Turning 28. Two more years and I’ll be turning 30. Somehow that seems a frightening number. But on the up, my husband will turn it 6 months earlier than me, haha.

I wanted to finish Magnus Chase on Friday but I couldn’t, and then I had to work this weekend (that work schedule got flipped around a few times), but I’m hoping to read a bit more this afternoon. Ugh, but I’ve been pretty terrible with writing reviews so I might have to do that instead. And I also have to finish the second half of the second course of medicine I mentioned in last week’s Sunday post.

I follow some blogs on bloglovin’ (though I haven’t attached this blog to bloglovin’, it wouldn’t work so I gave up) but I’ve noticed that I hardly ever comment on those posts. I don’t find the feed to use that easily as my wordpress feed is to comment on posts. Does anyone else have that?

⚜

Blog Posts This Week

β˜… Top Ten Tuesday #18 – In which I make some readalike suggestions
β˜… Blossom Books – Grishareadalong – In which I talk about the Grishareadalong Dutch publisher Blossom Books is organizing this October
β˜… September Wrap Up – In which I wrap up my September reading month
β˜… Versatile Blogger Award – in which I shared a few facts

⚜

Reviews This Week

β˜… The Archived by Victoria Schwab (books 1 +2)

⚜

Read This Week

the wee free men

⚜

Currently Reading

the sword of summerthe catastrophic history of you and me

  • I put The Catastrophic History of You and Me on hold for now as It’s a Wonderful Death is a tad similar I believe and I want to read that first. I’ll probably pick it back up around the end of the month.

⚜

Reading Next

it's a wonderful deathsiege and storm

28 thoughts on “Sunday Post #13

  1. Sorry to hear about your bike, dishonest people suck. At least they didn’t get away w. it. I’m really looking forward to seeing people’s thoughts on Magnus Chase since I plan on getting that one. The whole Norse angle has me intrigued.

    Your shelves look great!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I was pretty happy that my husband found my bike back, even if it is old.
      I’m almost halfway through and I’m curious to see where it is going.

      Thank you!

      Like

  2. I’m glad you’re feeling better and have your voice back! *ugh* people who actually get onto someone else’s property to steal a bike. We had that happen to us when we had just moved into our current house… four bikes disappeared, and we never got them back.
    You got some really good-looking books this week, and I hope you’ll enjoy them. Your shelves look great, but I think I wouldn’t really like to split up series either…
    Have a wonderful week ahead and happy reading.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Yeah, I thought the city where we lived was pretty okay crime wise but apparently not as we haven’t had much luck in recent months (someone smashed in the car window of my husband in August). Ugh, four bikes. That is so much to have to replace. 😦 Some people, honestly.

      Thank you!
      Yeah, I don’t like splitting them up either. So we’ll have to see how long it last.
      Happy reading and a good week to you as well. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I’m glad you’re starting to feel better and hope it continues and how annoying re your bike, but I guess at least you found it! I guess you’d have a sentimental attachment to it after so long.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Clicked like for FB! I do “use” bloglovin but the blogs that I follow I keep a track of by using the DIGG website.

    That’s crap your bike was stolen, it is a good age! Thirty is nothing, I am 36 and 40 is looming, I am dreading that!!

    Have a good week!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better and I’m glad your husband found your bike!

    I’m looking forward to reading Magnus Chase too but unlike you I haven’t been lucky enough to receive it before the release date. I’m still waiting on my pre-ordered copy.

    Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m glad you got your bike back, but it must still feel like a violation. If it’s easy you could pull off the frnt wheel when you go in too.
    In re you shelves: They look nice and I am sure the series don;t mind being broken up.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I am glad you’re feeling a bit better and I hope your voice is back to normal soon. That’s nasty your bike got stolen, but at least you got it back again. I love pre-ordering books and it’s fun when they finally arrive. I have a few pre-orders for this month that should be arriving in the next few weeks. I have my bloglovin settings done in such a way that when i click on a post it takes me to that blog itself and I can comment there. I don’t read the posts in my actual feed. That picture fo your bookshelf is awesome! I hope you’ll have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. My voice is pretty much back now.
      It is so fun when they arrive, especially early. It’s like a present, haha.

      Oh, I’ll have to see if I can change my settings to that. That is so much easier.

      Like

  8. I’m so sorry about your voice and bike! Your hubs sounds pretty awesome to go out hunting for your bike, though. Give him a fist pump from me for that one!

    Ya know, I had a bugger of a time hooking my blog up to bloglovin’ and I’m self-hosted. You’re on Bloglovin’, you just need to claim it. Follow this link: https://www.bloglovin.com/blogs/a-dance-with-books-14115161 and click where it says in the topish right, “is this your blog? Claim It!” Hope that helps at least with that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I will! He is pretty awesome.

      Thank you! ❀ It worked! The last time I tried the claim my blog route it went on about code or something like that (and not the link I had to post) not being right and so on, but not this time. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

