TBR

Halloween Reading

October is fast approaching. The month of World Animal Day, my birthday and the release of Rick Riordan’s new series. Most of all though, Halloween is in October. Halloween isn’t a day that is given a lot of attention in the Netherlands. The last few years there has been a slight increase of attention to it. A few people put up decorations in front of their window in our street and there are some dance parties. But for the most part it passes like any normal day.

And yet I’ve been noticing I unintentionally have been putting books to the side for Halloween reading. I have never been a big theme reader. I don’t read specific books for Christmas or Valentine’s Day. And I don’t celebrate Halloween. I suppose Halloween, as a big fantasy reader, does draw me in more because of the mainstream idea surrounding it. Witches, ghosts, the veil, the supernatural. These are things I enjoy though I don’t often read it in combination with real scary/horror elements. And yet I’ve been putting these books to the side in my head. Saving them to read in October in preperation of Halloween.

So I’ve decided to post my Halloween reading list! These are all books I already own, and that have elements that I think fits for Halloween.

  • Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman
  • Equal Rites (Discworld 3) by Terry Pratchett
  • The Birth of a Killer (The Sage of Larten Crepsley 1) by Darren Shan
  • Shutter by Courtney Alameda
  • Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna 1) by Kendare Blake
  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children 1) by Ransom Riggs
  • Dorothy Must Die (Dorothy Must Die 1) by Danielle Paige
  • Dreamcatcher by Stephen King
  • The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle 1) by Maggie Stiefvater
  • The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle 2) by Maggie Stiefvater
  • The Darkest Powers trilogy by Kelley Armstrong
  • Soul Music (Discworld) by Terry Pratchett
  • The Wee Free Men (Discworld) by Terry Pratchett
  • The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg

Do you ever catch yourself unintentionally putting books to the side like that? Do you like to read specific books for Halloween?

10 thoughts on “Halloween Reading

  1. Theme reading is so much fun! I love picking up contemporaries during the summer, or high fantasies during the winter, and it’s the same thing with holidays. I haven’t intentionally set up a TBR for Halloween yet, but I definitely have some books in mind, including Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray. Have you read the Diviners by her? I read that last Halloween, and it was PERFECT. šŸ™‚

    Hope you enjoy the Raven Cycle as much as I did. They’re great Halloween books- very atmospheric. šŸ™‚ x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m curious to see what books you’ll be reading for Halloween! I haven’t read The Diviners, though I’ve heard a lot about it. It sounds good, I just haven’t gotten around to buying it yet.

      I hope so too. From what I’ve been hearing they seem perfect for Halloween. šŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

