Sunday Post

Sunday Post #10

sunday post

The Sunday post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. This is a bit of a recap post of the week where you can link to the posts you made this week, share news, and even what you have been reading. Some categories might change per Sunday.

Personal

Now this post was planned on Friday. Early bird. But I had to as I am currently away for the weekend. My parents live about 3 hours away from me, and we are visiting them for my mother’s birthday (Sept. 15th). I’ll try and take a few pictures of my surroudings if the weather is okay. Since I didn’t think it would be okay to make a Sunday post while visiting there (not very polite and all that), I planned it in in advance. I might be able to edit in the link of the planned in Saturday post, but I can’t be sure. Haha.

Look at what my husband ordered for me though!

Funkopops! Initially he had ordered me one of the wolves of Game of Thrones on another site, but they are having trouble delivering it. So when I found another Dutch site that sold them we ordered these. I wanted one of the dragons. Dragons are amazing. And Harry Potter since my husband loves the movies, and the books a bit so that seemed like the right choice.

Look at how pretty they are out of the box. My husband is insisting on keeping them in the box though. Party pooper.

Other than that my week was pretty okay. I got pre ordered books in the mail which always makes any week better. I only worked Monday and Wednesday afternoon and evening so a pretty easy week work wise. The temperature dropped a bit last week so the start to the week wasn’t too great weather wise, but around Thursday it picked up with the Sun. Unfortunately that night it also meant a mosquito or something else decided it was time to come out and play, and bit me a few times. Since it is already September my reaction isn’t as strong so I had a biggish cheek, a big finger and other swollen spots on my arm.  I returned for another visit the night after. This one was so vicious. Any limb above the covers it tried to go for within minutes. So annoying. .__.  And painful. Stupid allergies.

My birthday is in October. The week of my birthday I’ll have a week off, and for about half of that week we will go to Maastricht. We just booked a hotel so yeay. We haven’t gone away (except to my parents) in a long while (think years) so even though this is still in the country, it is very welcome. And hey, Maastricht has a book shop in a church like in Zwolle so that I need to visit. Haha.

Also, am I the only person that doesn’t give two cents about Queen of Shadows? I though maybe after hearing the buzz I might be compelled to pick it up, but I’ve just stopped caring about this series completely, even though it sounds like it is heading more in the direction that I would like it to head than the general fandom wants it to head into. And yet no interest it sparks in me.

Funny, how sometimes I have more interest in picking up the sequels of books I’ve rated 2/2,5 stars than the sequels books I’ve rated around 3/3,5 stars (or in Heir of Fire’s case even 4,5 stars).

Anyway, I’ll be visiting your Sunday posts on Monday morning. Hope you all are having a good weekend!

Bookish News

So apparently a Spanish publisher has said that the sixth A Song of Ice and Fire book wil definitely be published in 2016, shy of a meteorite hitting us. Funny. I remain skeptical.

Blog Posts This Week

Top Ten Tuesday #15 – In which I list the finished book series I have YET to finish
Point of Views in Books – In which I talk about my personal preference for point of views for reading
Favorite Booktubers – In which I shared some of my favorite Booktubers

Reviews This Week

The Screaming Staircase (Lockwood & Co. 1) by Jonathan Stroud
The Whispering Skull (Lockwood & Co. 2) by Jonathan Stroud

Out There

★ Sunday afternoon I saw that Paging Serenity has a penpal program going for us bookworms. I signed up. If you find it interesting you can find the form here. I think she is meaning to make matches at the start of October though.
★ Word Revel talks about bookstagram safety.
★ Deanna from a novel glimpse confesses, “I read too much and I don’t care.”
★ Cait from Paper Fury wonders if we should read what everyone else is reading.

Read This Week

the hollow boysnowwhitea darker shade of magic

Currently Reading

the magician kingrarity from the hollow

Reading Next

the archivedthe unbound

20 thoughts on “Sunday Post #10

  1. I saw that article too about Ice and Fire. I do think it will come out (late) in 2016 but it wouldn’t surprise me a bit if its 2017. Or never… 🙂

    Nice post on POV’s. Enjoy your week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Harry Potter and Rhaegal! I’m jealous, those are soooo cute! And don’t worry, you’re not alone with Queen of Shadows. I can’t find the motivation to continue with the series after the first book so I’m just waiting for the hype to be over and for Six of Crows to come out. I’m reading A Darker Shade of Magic this week as well! I’ve heard good things about it so I think it’s going to be enjoyable. How are you liking The magician king so far?
    and good luck with your allergies 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They are super cute!
      That is a relief to hear, haha.. Looking forward to Six of Crows as well!
      I hope you like it! I enjoyed it a lot.
      The Magician King is okay so far but after 140 pages I am just not interested in the plot so I’m finding it hard to pick up the book.

      Like

  3. Ooh, I hope you like The Archived! I sooo want to read that. GAH, SO MANY BOOKS. Oh and *pats shoulder* there there, about Queen of Shadows. I think that series is getting far too much hype now. I mean, I DO like it, but it’s not living up to it for me. Oops. >_< I just wish there were more options of good YA fantasies out there! 😛
    Thanks for linking to my post!
    Your little HP and Dragon are SO CUTEEEE!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too. I’m really looking forward to it. Too many books, haha.

      I agree. And I read your review for it. For me, I did not enjoy the first two as much, but really enjoyed Heir of Fire. The thing is the whole shipping and you cannot dislike Chaol thing the fandom seems to have put me off it. And I talked about the contrast there seems to be between the first two books and the third book with someone that also made me less happy about Heir of Fire after reading it and thinking it over a few months later.

      So little options. 😉 Have you read Seven Realms series by Cinda Williams Chima? It’s a ya high fantasy. I love it.
      And you are very welcome!
      I know! I’m so happy with them. 😀

      Like

  4. Your husband is a definitely keeper, the Harry Potter and Rhaegal one looks amazing! AND EEEP SO MUCH VICTORIA SCHWAB. I approve! Though I have yet to read The Archived series and need to get onto that promptly.

    ASOIAF 6 will be released? Omg! I am not holding my breath though cos we had false alarms of book 5 for years lmao.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He is! 😉
      I kept putting reading Victoria Schwab off because I had such high expectations but I finally got to them. And yes, read The Archived. I’ve heard so many good things about it. I hope we’ll like it.

      Yeah, though there is no official release date yet and all. Best not be too hopefull haha.

      Like

  5. The Lockwood books are on my TBR. I’m trying to find some creepier books for October and these just look too fun to pass up! I love the Harry Potter and the dragon and agree they look so cute out of the boxes. I keep meaning to really look at all the different characters they have but when I have time I forget. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh you should definitely read them in October. They are great reads for that month.
      There are so many. It was so hard to choose! But I’m glad with these.
      Have a great week as well. 🙂

      Like

  6. Funko pops are like a cross between bobbleheads and troll dolls. I think I just completely missed the boat on these – although I noted some for Jamie Fraser the other week. Enjoy the collection.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

