reviews

Book Review – Amulet, V1: The Stonekeeper

Book: Amulet, volume 1: The Stonekeeper by Kazu Kibuishi
Original Release Date: January 1st 2008
Genre: Graphic Novel/Fantasy
Reading Format: Paperback
Edition: English edition by GRAPHIX
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Untitled Goodreads

Synopsis

After the tragic death of their father, Emily and Navin move with their mother to the home of her deceased great-grandfather, but the strange house proves to be dangerous. Before long, a sinister creature lures the kids’ mom through a door in the basement. Em and Navin, desperate not to lose her, follow her into an underground world inhabited by demons, robots, and talking animals. Eventually, they enlist the help of a small mechanical rabbit named Miskit. Together with Miskit, they face the most terrifying monster of all, and Em finally has the chance to save someone she loves.

Review

Next to hearing general good things, I was not sure what to expect from Amulet. I was not disappointed however. Untitled

Let’s start with the art that is mostly consistent throughout. Kazu Kibuishi has his own style, and the way that he draws the characters does take some getting used to. It started to endear me as I continued reading. It does fit with the age that these children, that are the main characters, seem to be. But what I think is the best part art wise of this graphic novel, are some of the detailed scenery. There is this shot of a house in the middle of the novel that is simply stunning.

The start to this story, the prologue, is one that does tug at your emotional cord. I read it and immediately put it down again for a few hours before I wanted to continue. Because I wasn’t sure if I was ready to have my heart ripped out so soon, thank you very much.

The rest of the book however does not continue on that emotional level. It eases you into the main story with little hints and nudges towards the prologue. The story fast forwards once they enter another world. In places it feels a bit rushed, but overall it was a good introduction to this story line and world. There are still a lot of questions I have towards the world and the history, but I trust these will be answered in the next few volumes.

There is a certain dark underline running throughout this book that are hints towards the story for the next few volumes. Don’t be fooled by the fact that there is a robot bunny on the front cover or that the main characters are children. I do not expect this series to be light hearted. I think that is what interests me the most about this story and what makes me want to grab it and read it again.

Another thing that I liked was that the younger sibling was the cautious one. Emily is the older sister, but she is very determined and has a bit of a one track mind once they are in the other world. Navin tries to hold her back. I wonder how their relationship and them individually will develop in this world.

5 thoughts on “Book Review – Amulet, V1: The Stonekeeper

Leave a Reply

