top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday #13

top ten tuesdayWelcome to another Top Ten Tuesday. Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish, where we get a bookish prompt to create a top ten for.

This week the topic is Top Ten Books That Would Be On Your Syllabus If You Taught X 101 (examples: YA fantasy 101, feminist literature 101, magic in YA 101, classic YA lit 101, world-building 101).  I wasn’t entirely sure how to go about this one. Picking 10 solid ones for any topic could be tricky. But here we go anyway. I choose not to use numbers this time. I also went mostly with series instead of nameing just one book.

I also had this all written out, but then clicked the wrong button and lost it all. So I appologize if this is a bit short in explanation, and now there are only eight. The first time was much more compelling. Yes, I am still upset about losing my first draft.

ttt world building 101

★ A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin
First book: A Game of Thrones

There is a lot of things one can say about the author, but he sure knows how to build up a world with different regions, cultures, politics and religions.

★ Seraphina duology by Rachel Hartman
First book: Seraphina

The world of this duology is very strong and hints at so much more, and one I hope she will return to

★ Seven Realms by Cinda Williams Chima
First book: The Demon King

I love the Seven Realms. This world has different cultures, and not just in differing countries. There is also a rich history and various politics going on. I’m glad next year we will be returning to this world

★ Astrid Lethewood by A.M. Dellamonica
First book: Indigo Springs

The magic system and the world next to our was one I hadn’t seen before, and well build up in the first book.

★ Howl’s Moving Castle (and companions) by Diana Wynne Jones
Diana Wynne Jones knows how to weave a fairy tale like story in magic and the surrounding world.

★ Bartimaeus series by Jonathan Stroud
First book: The Amulet of Samarkand

The world in this series is similiar and yet so different to our own in . He builds it up so well that it does start to feel like a different world despite the same city names.

★ Discworld by Terry Pratchett
Discworld is such a big world created from nothing with even its own reaper. It is a great example how to create a whole world/planet.

★ XXXHolic by CLAMP
CLAMP knows well how to combine two worlds together (as this series also crosses over with Tsubasa at moments), and how to incorperate paranormal elements into the world.

Of course at this point I could mention Harry Potter, but that would be too easy.

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #13

  1. *ear perks* Did you say xxxHoLiC?! YOU ARE MY NEW BFF. I love Yuuko so much, she’s my favourite CLAMP character in all the worlds. I also adored seeing the Japanese mythology and how the worlds connected.

    ASOIAF is obviously awesome, as are Howl’s Moving Castle and Discworld. You have fantastic taste, I’ll have to check your other recs!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t recognize many of these, but I applaud your inclusion of Westeros, Discworld, and the Bartemeus world, so I guess I’d better go check out your other picks! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

