Topics/Discussion

TBR Jar

The TBR Jar. It is a helpful tool that you see a lot around the book blog’o’sphere. It is a jar where you put in slips of paper that hold the titles of your tbr books. Often the phsyical ones, but you can of course also put in the ebooks. Some fold the slips of paper into stars which makes the jar quite a sight. Something I really need to learn how to do.

It is great to have all your TBR books written down. When you don’t know what book to pick, the TBR jar can help out. Or when you are in a reading slump, picking a book from the jar can help to start up a book. And of course it is a great way to pick out books you wouldn’t otherwise easily pick up of our shelves. Those books we say we have to be in ‘a certain mood’ for. We all have them.

Some people also like to use these jars not to put in TBR books but to put in challenges. Challenges like ‘read a book over 500 pages’ or ‘read a classic’.

Personally I have two TBR Jars.

The TBR Jar on the picture to the left is my classics TBR jar. I have all the classics I own phsyical or as ebook in there. Whenever I finish a classic I pick out a new one from here. I don’t have a rule about in what time I have to finish a classic book. Though if I don’t pick it up in a while I either make a reading schedule for myself or put it back in the jar and pick another classic.

I felt it was important to have the classics seperate, and read them next to the other books I read. Most classics tend to take me a while, and if I focus solely on a classic either I don’t finish it or it takes me a very long time. If I would have had them in my normal TBR jar I want to read classics but I want to do it my own way with little pressure.

My other TBR Jar held all my other TBR books up until Sunday. I choose to change it as I noticed I wasn’t using it as much as I would have liked. I was using reading lists more, attached to my goals. So instead of having all my TBR books in there, I decided to only put in the books I had on my Summer reading list. That way I don’t have to keep looking at the books I wanted to read this Summer (Summer is until in September), and I don’t have to think about what I want to read first. I can just pick it out.

Also the jar isn’t as full so it feels like I’m actually completing something. As if I’m actually making a dent in my TBR.

Have you ever used a TBR Jar, and were you able to stick to using it?

8 thoughts on “TBR Jar

  1. I love that you have 2 separate jars. I tried making one, but it had all my classics and other genres in one place, and that didn’t work out too well for me. I might steal your idea and make 2, haha xD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this idea and I keep meaning to do one for myself. I think it would really help me when I can’t figure out what to read and it’s just really fun looking! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

