reviews

Book Review – The Power of Six

the power of six englishBook: The Power of Six (The Lorien Legacies 2) by Pittacus Lore
Original Release Date: August 23rd 2011
Genre: Sci-Fi
Reading Format: Paperback
Edition: Dutch edition by A.W. Bruna, released November 2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Goodreads / I Am Number Four (book 1)

Beware, possible spoilers for the first book.

Synopsis

I’ve seen him on the news. Followed the stories about what happened in Ohio. John Smith, out there, on the run. To the world, he’s a mystery. But to me . . . he’s one of us.

Nine of us came here, but sometimes I wonder if time has changed us—if we all still believe in our mission. How can I know? There are six of us left. We’re hiding, blending in, avoiding contact with one another . . . but our Legacies are developing, and soon we’ll be equipped to fight. Is John Number Four, and is his appearance the sign I’ve been waiting for? And what about Number Five and Six? Could one of them be the raven-haired girl with the stormy eyes from my dreams? The girl with powers that are beyond anything I could ever imagine? The girl who may be strong enough to bring the six of us together?

They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They tried to catch Number Four in Ohio—and failed.

I am Number Seven. One of six still alive.

And I’m ready to fight.

Review

The Power of Six continues quickly after the ending of I Am Number Four. Sam, Four and Six are on the run while in Spain we are introduced to Seven/Marina. There were parts that I liked, but overall I felt this book was a bit of a disappointment.

One of the problems that I had with this book was that it was hard to get into. A lot of that had to do with the dual first point of view. Normally I don’t have a problem with this. However in this case I kept being jolted out of the story when there was a switch. I really enjoyed Marina’s point of view, but every time we switched to Four I was jolted out. Having it dual like this showed how I don’t really have any click with Four and that he is a bit bland to follow compared to Marina. Marina was much more interesting. She had struggles, but also passions like painting.

Another problem I had was when there were switches in point of view during a few chapters. These switches were short switches and often in the middle of action on one side. For me it felt very wrongly timed, and I had a hard time keeping my attention to the book.

Dutch cover
Dutch cover

Like I said, I enjoyed Marina and her story. Her struggles with her guardian were interesting. I completely understand how it could happen for Adelina to turn away like that. It wasn’t okay, but it isn’t strange that it would happen to at least one of them at some point.

The story on the other end though was not as interesting. The three of them are getting to know each other, and of course a love triangle has to be added in. Where in the first book Four was so in love with Sarah, in this book he flirts a bit and likes Six. It was annoying and it felt unnecessary. I was expecting their coupling at some point but certainly not so soon. I had hoped that Six would be developed further but it still feels like I hardly know anything about her.

The ending, with the introduction to Nine, was a lot better. Nine, though we only got a bit of him, seems like a vibrant personality. I hope he shakes things up a bit.

2 thoughts on “Book Review – The Power of Six

Leave a Reply

