top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday #10

top ten tuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they give us a prompt to create a top ten connected to books.

This week the prompt is Top Ten Fairy Tale Retellings I’ve Read or Want To Read. I like this prompt. Though I like to think I enjoy fairy tale retellings, I haven’t read that many when I look at my books. Obviously The Lunar Chronicles and the collection of short Faerie Tales spring to mind, but other than that I am drawing a blank. So I will go the Top Ten Fairy Tale Retellings I Want To Read route.

ttt 9 - 1

1. Dorothy Must Die (Dorothy Must Die 1) by Danielle Paige
Now this is a book I already own. I’ve been hearing bits and pieces from it and it sounds very interesting. As the title suggests this book is set after The Wizard of Oz and takes a different route from the original tale.

2. The Wrath and the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn 1) by Renee Ahdieh
This is currently a very hyped retelling of A Thousand and One Nights. It sounds very interesting and I’ve been hearing mostly good things. Also it didn’t take the route of the more well known fairy tales like cinderella and such.

3. Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis
That cover is so gorgeous! It is rather obvious that this book is a retelling of Snow White. I havent heard too much about this book, but I like that it is a standalone.

4. Mechanica by Betsy Cornwell
Another standalone and a retelling of Cinderella. This one is heavily being compared to The Lunar Chronicels. I’m curious.

5. Uprooted by Naomi Novik
I get the feeling this is more of a fairy tale like story than a retelling, but I haven’t read too many reviews about it so I’m not sure. I’m adding it onto this list though. It sounds really good.

ttt 9 - 2

6. Valiant by Sarah McGuire
This is a middle grade retelling of The Valiant Tailor. I love that this is once again a retelling of a tale not that well known or used as much.

7. The School for Good and Evil (The School for Good and Evil 1) by Soman Chainani
Another book I already own. Again, I feel this is mostly a fairy tale like story with a school where they are trained to be fairy tale heroes and villains.

8. The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making (Fairyland 1) by Catherynne M. Valente
That title!

9. The Isles of the Lost (The Descendants 1)  by Melissa de la Cruz
There is a bit of a buz surrounding this one as it is connected to a Disney movie. I am curious to see how it is executed.

10. Through the Woods by Emily Caroll
Through the Woods is a graphic novel with a few short stories fairy tale like. It sounds very interesting.

Which fairy retellings or fairy tale like stories would you still like to read? And which ones would you recommend to me?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #10

Leave a Reply

