reviews

Book Review – Infinite Sea

Book: Infinite Sea (The 5th Wave 2) by Rick Yancey
Original Release Date: September 16th 2014
Genre: Sci-Fi
Reading Format: Hardcover
Edition: English edition published by Putnam Juvenile
Rating: 2,5 out of 5 stars

Untitled

Goodreads / The 5th Wave (book 1)

This is a second book in a series. Beware of possible spoilers for the first book. You can find the link to my review of the first book above.

Synopsis

How do you rid the Earth of seven billion humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.

Surviving the first four waves was nearly impossible. Now Cassie Sullivan finds herself in a new world, a world in which the fundamental trust that binds us together is gone. As the 5th Wave rolls across the landscape, Cassie, Ben, and Ringer are forced to confront the Others’ ultimate goal: the extermination of the human race.

Cassie and her friends haven’t seen the depths to which the Others will sink, nor have the Others seen the heights to which humanity will rise, in the ultimate battle between life and death, hope and despair, love and hate.

Review

I really loved The 5th Wave when I read it last year, but after seeing the smaller size and reading some other reviews, I feared The Infinite Sea. And though this book wasn’t quite as bad as I had feared, it certainly does not compare to the first book.

Overall this book feels like an in between book, aching to a novella. There is a focus on recapping what has happened since the ending of the first book and the relationships between the characters that have now changed or are just starting. We learn about Evan’s fate and a new tactic that is being used. However other than that nothing really happens in the first 200 pages that truly furthers the plot. It feels unfocused. After 200 pages it feels like a real plot line is being uncovered again. We learn new things that are a clear set up for the next book. But overall the book does not pack a punch.

I felt that the writing was trying to be too flowery in this book. Too interesting with certain comparisons and trying to keep things described mysteriously that didn’t work for me. I can’t remember the writing being like that in The 5th Wave. Maybe it stands out more now as less is actually happening.

As for the characters, I had a harder time connecting with Cassie in this book than I did with the first book. It might be the change with her interacting with more people now. Next to Cassie, Ringer’s point of view was introduced. The first chunk in Ringer’s point of view I had a hard time with. I found her thoughts choppy. Very short sentences. The second time we returned to Ringer in this book, at the end, we followed her longer and her point of view got a bit better. Honestly, at some point I longed for Ben’s point of view. I think he could have been a breath of fresh air. Which is odd as I had a hard time with his point of view in the first book.

Also what was up with the random kissing in this book? If that was meant to be a hint for the next book (love triangle), I’m not digging it.

So I am very disappointed with this book. I will still read the next book however. The first book, and the ending did keep my curiosity. I do want to know how this all will end.

3 thoughts on “Book Review – Infinite Sea

Leave a Reply

