top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday #8

top ten tuesdayThis Tuesday The Broke and the Bookish have given us the following prompt: Ten books that celebrate diversity/diverse characters (examples: minority/religious minority, disabled mc, lgbtq etc). Now I am ashamed to say that this was a bit of a difficult one for me. There has been a lot of talk the last few years about more diversity in books, but those books with diversity don’t always get the attention they deserve.

I’ve been reading other people’s opinions on this on some of the books I’ve read. Recent for instance was Throne of Glass being discussed over on Tumblr and how diversity with POC had been handled in there. For those that want to see, the thread is here.

Unfortunately it still remains hard to have this discussion. The tone turns hard very quickly with some as they want to protect the books they love. There is nothing wrong with loving a book and still seeing the problems within it. And books can have diverse characters but still fall into tropes. Discussion is important. And if you are like me and aren’t sure how or what to contribute to this discussion, just read as many discussions between other people that you can and learn from it.

In any case I will use this top ten tuesday mostly to read other people’s list and opinions. The books below are books that sprung to my mind first. I am still learning when it comes to this subject.

1. Otherbound by Corinne Duyvis
Bisexual and disabled main character. I especially recommend this one.

2. Astrid Lethewood duology by A.M. Dellamonica
Bisexual main character (mostly addressed in the first book) and transexual main character (character is main in the second book). I’d love to hear people’s opinions on how they feel the transexual part of this series was handled!

3. Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan
Homosexual main character (in the last few books). POC.

4. Seven Realms by Cinda Williams Chima
POC.

Below are some books with diversity I really want to read.

5. The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black
LGBTQ+

6. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz
LGBTQ+

7. Half a King (Shattered Sea 1) by Joe Abercrombie
Disabilities

8. The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson
POC

Do you have any recommendations for me for fantasy books with diversity?

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #8

  1. I’ve still got Otherbound on my wishlist, I’m really hoping to get to it one day! I’m glad you really recommend it, because I haven’t seen it around much.
    The Gone series by Micheal Grant features a lot of diverse characters (though the main characters are straight white males), apart from that I really don’t know any fantasy books with diverse characters. I know a murder-mystery novel though that I loved (Imogene in New Orleans).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, get it! I enjoyed it a lot.
      I’ve seen the Gone series around a lot, but I’m not sure if that is one for me, even though I’ve heard a lot of good things about Michael Grant.

      Like

Leave a Reply

