Book Tags

The Liebster Award

I was tagged/nominated for the Liebster Award by Skylee @ The Night Girl and All My Love, Lj. Thank you so much to both of you. Please give each of them a visit.

liebster awardThe Liebster Award is a type of meme to help discover and appreciate newer blogs. Or for those that do deserve more followers I feel! You can read a bit more about it here. It is fun to read about how this award seems to have evolved over time. In any case it feels like a great way to get to know other people.

  • Each nominee must have under 200 followers
  • Thank and link to the nominated blog
  • Answer their 10 questions and propose 10 new ones for your nominees
  • Nominate 10 blogs and tell them that they have been nominated
  • Write a post containing the questions
  • Include these rules in the post

Ten questions as asked by Kaylee at The Night Girl.

  1. Tell me about your favourite book genre? or sub genres? Why is it your favourite?
    My favorite book genre has to be fantasy. I enjoy most of the sub genres, though I suppose I have a small preference towards high fantasy. Fantasy elements have always drawn me in. I love the ideas and how far away from the real world this can be. I can immerse myself completely in a fantasy world. It makes me forget about the real world.
  2. Do you have any other passions? if so, what are they?
    Any other passions? Not so much at the moment. I used to draw a lot. I have no talent but I enjoyed doing it nonetheless. I also used to write fan fiction, and some original fiction, but I’ve been having trouble motivating myself.
  3. Favourite summer activity that isn’t reading?
    Visiting zoo’s?
  4. How do you feel about gardening?
    Great, I think. I’m not much of a gardener, but I like to see plants and flowers inside and outside the house. Where we live we don’t have a garden. Everything was tiled up by the previous owners and we haven’t had the motivation to change much about that. All our plants and flowers are in pots.
  5. Do you believe in mermaids?
    No, if only they were real. 😦
  6. What historical period of time do you think you would have liked to live in?
    Honestly, I have no idea. Every period has its positives and negatives. I don’t think I’d like to settle in one right from the start. I would want to visit them all and see how I feel about them. Reading about these historical periods will never be like actually living in them.
  7. Do you prefer stand alone books or trilogies or even series?
    Judging from my books I’d say series or trilogies. I would like to read more standalones. I’ve noticed I’m getting a little sick of everything being a series, though I suppose this is almost default with fantasy books.
  8. If you could choose a best friend from a book (e.g. what main characters best friend would you want to be your best friend) who would it be and from what book?
    Oeh. Sander from De Verborgen Universiteit trilogy by Natalie Koch. It’s a trilogy by a Dutch author, and though I haven’t read the second book yet, I’ve really enjoyed his character. He’s a nice guy, likes books and likes to experiment.
  9. If you could acquire any type of skill in the world, what would it be?
    I’m not sure. What would be the fun in just acquiring a skill? Maybe being able to learn every language very quickly.
  10. Do you judge books by their covers?
    Yes. I always want the prettiest cover.

Ten Questions as asked by All My Love, Lj.

  1. Do you have a book that made you fall in love with reading?  What is it, and why did you love it so much?
    I can’t remember from when I was younger. I can only recall my mother always taking me to the library. But for my return back to reading it would have to be Cinder by Marissa Meyer.
  2. What are your favorite genres to read?  What do you like about them so much?
    Fantasy! The answer is also above. I also like Sci-Fi though I don’t read it nearly as much. I just like to see what future worlds people come up with that have aliens and spaceships, haha.
  3. If you could save only 5 books from a fire, which ones would they be?
    You can’t ask me that! Don’t make me choose!
  4. Do you believe in magic?
    Though I enjoy fantasy, I don’t believe in magic.
  5. What are your other passions/interests?
    See answer in the above question section.
  6. What are your most/least favorite book to movie adaptations?
    I enjoyed The Hunger Games though I didn’t enjoy the book so much. As for least, I’d say the adaption of Perfume. I could not finish that movie.
  7. What 5 books would you say everyone should read before they die? (5 books other than the ones chosen in #3)
    I kind of hate these questions because this is incredibly personal. They might be it for me, but certainly not for others. And they change a lot.
    The Night Circus, Discworld series, Bartimaeus series, Indigo Springs and The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.
    And yes, I am aware that mentioning series is cheating but shhh.
  8.  If you could have a single superpower, what would you choose?
    Super speed, so I could read super fast, haha.
  9.  If you could live in another period of time, where/when would you choose?
    See answer in above question section.
  10. Tell me something random about yourself.
    I am 1.50m tall. 😉

My questions

  1. Which books would you recommend to me for the genre’s historical fiction, contemporary and dystopia (without fantasy elements)?
  2. What is your favorite book that displays diversity?
  3. Last book you bought?
  4. What is your favorite book by an author from your own country?
  5. Who is your all time favorite character?
  6. Do you listen to music when you read? If yes, do you associate certain books with certain music? If no, how come?
  7. What are themes in books you will not (or rather not) read about?
  8. Who taught you how to read?
  9. Describe your ideal reading spot.
  10. What would you like to share with us?

I nominate/tag:

  1. Bookwormmaniac
  2. Emily @ The Geek Undergraduate
  3. Myrthe @ Books around the World
  4. PenMarkings
  5. If you feel like doing this, then I nomiate/tag you right now

I know, it sounds very lazy. I don’t want to assume too much about other people’s blogs I suppose and their follower count. That portion of the rules makes me a bit iffy.

2 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

