reviews

Book Review – The 5th Wave

This is an older review from last year that I am posting because I will be reading the second book soon, and hopefully reviewing that here as well.

Book: The 5th Wave (The 5th Wave 1) by Rick Yancey
Original Release Date: May 7th 2013
Genre: Sci-Fi/Dystopia
Reading Format: Hardcover
Edition: English edition by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Untitled

Goodreads

Synopsis

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker.

Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

Review

You know, I have always been one of those that dislikes reading first point of view changes between two characters, let alone mixing in third point of view. I still stand by my dislike for that. But for some reason in this book it worked. It worked because before there was too much changing between characters, we’d spend so long in Cassie’s and later Ben’s head. I knew their voices. I’d already gotten to know them. It didn’t bother me which was a surprise to me. It was done well. Well thought out when to change point of view. The way the book is set-up with those gorgeous part dividers in between, helps.

For some the start felt slow but I liked it. Cassie grabbed me from the start. I’m glad we got to spend the first 100 pages or so in her head and found out most through her. I like her as a character and I like her sometimes sarcastic comments on things. She’s not stupid but sometimes wishes she could follow her feelings instead. Her relationship with Evan is interesting to say the least. I kind of like him. It is a good thing we didn’t spend so much time in his head though and that we got to know him more through Cassie.


I had a bit more trouble getting into Ben. He didn’t stand out as much as Cassie. Once he got more in with his team, that picked up a bit.

A lot of the things what happened regarding the plot weren’t huge surprises. I knew long before it was mentioned, that it was Ben or who Evan was. It didn’t bother me though. I was invested in the characters, mainly Cassie.


I read it in one sitting. It grabbed me and did not let me go.

15 thoughts on “Book Review – The 5th Wave

  1. I enjoyed Cassie’s chapters more than Ben’s as well. Though I thought the romance between Evan and Cassie evolved too quickly. Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Annemieke! I didn’t know you had a WordPress as well!!! Great review. Been wanting to read this and now its about to become a movie with Chloe and Nick!!!!!!! AHHHHHHHH. I love Nick so freaking much. My new crush. 🙂 Def, going for this one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! Yeah, just two months or so right now. (And I was sure I was already following your wordpress since I saw the link on twitter, but apparently not 😦 )

      Thank you! Yes, read it. I’m curious to see how the movie will turn out. Nick is cute. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Do you still use your Tumblr account? I didn’t expect people to be so nice here. IT’S THE BEST. Everyone is so friendly and commenting. Commenting is def a feature I think Tumblr should have. Hopefully, I’ll pick it up soon! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Not so much. Between starting a new job, housework, this blog and rest, I haven’t had much time to be there. Plus Tumblr was never that interactive for me.
        Like you say, everyone here is so friendy and do their best to talk to everyone. It is easier to stick around here.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

