top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday #7

top ten tuesdayIt is Tuesday so here we are with another Top Ten Tuesday. Top Ten Tuesday is created by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they give us a prompt to inspire a list of ten.

This week the prompt is top ten hyped books I’ve never read. Interesting. I picked books from before 2014.There are plenty of hyped new releases going around at the moment, but it feels too soon to put them on a list like this.

For me hyped books are books that almost everyone has heard about. There is a huge buzz around them and a lot of media attention. These are books that you will see at all book stores.

1. Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James

2. Shatter Me series by Tahereh Maffi

3. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

4. The Selection series by Keira Cass

5. Millenium series by Stieg Larsson

6. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

7. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

8. The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

9. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

10. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

Some of these I might read at some point. Others I probably won’t read. In most cases this will be because they just don’t appeal to me because of genre/synopsis or overal impressions I have gotten of some of these books. Some I might read when I am older.

Do you share some of these books with me?

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #7

  1. I’ve read the first four books on your list (Fifty Shades, Shatter Me, The Fault in Our Stars, The Selection) and the Da Vinci Code (though that’s got to be almost 10 years ago).
    The Da Vinci Code is really good if you like mysteries with a twist. Apart from that, I can only recommend Shatter Me, but that’s really more because of the writing (which I adore) than the story itself (though it’s cute, but nothing too special).
    You won’t miss out on anything not reading the other ones. TFiOS just reminds me a lot of Anke de Vries, which I used to read when I was 10 or something; I’ve read it because it was hyped, and sure it is very well written (seriously, the writing is phenomenal), but apart from that, I didn’t find it too special.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We own The Da Vinci Code, because my husband loved the movie and wanted the book (though he has yet to read it, le sigh), so I might pick that up at some point.

      For now I’ve decided not to pick up Shatter Me, because an online friend had said what you said. Very well written but the story wasn’t that great.

      Oh, Anke de Vries, Bruises! I loved that book of hers when I was younger. Reread that a few times.
      But yeah, even my sister in law said that TFiOS wasn’t all that special.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read a lot of these too! I actually forgot The Kite Runner was a pretty famous book…I do own it!! I snabbled it super cheap at a library sale, buuuuut yes, I haven’t felt particularly motivated to try it. >_< I'm seeing Outlander on a LOT of lists too and I haven't even really heard much about that one. NEED TO GO INVESTIGATE. HUZZAH.
    Here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think hype can actually ruin a book for many people. I love The Fault in Our Stars, but I read it before all the buzz, so I can see how some would find all the praise off-putting. I’m not a fan of The Selection or Shatter Me. Outlander is good, but a huge book and takes a bit of time to get through.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree. In some cases you can hear so much about a book that it doesn’t even sound interesting anymore. The buzz becomes overwhelming. There can also be the feeling of a pressure to having to like the book then.

      Like

  4. I started the Shadow of the Wind two years ago and still haven’t been able to finish it. It’s not that it’s not good, it just doesn’t draw in like I want it to. I’ll finish it one day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I understand what you mean. It took me a year to read The Complete Sherlock Holmes. I kept reading small bits, because it was hard to really sink into it even though I liked it. until I finally read 700 pages of it in one month earlier this year. But only because I pushed really hard.
      And you will. šŸ™‚ It doesn’t matter how long it takes.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

