Wrap Up

Popsugar 2015 Reading Challenge – Half Way Point

Like many at the start of the year I took on the 2015 Reading Challenge from Popsugar. Some prompts are definitely harder than others to find a book for and I’m not sure how hard I will try to find a book for each of the ones I still have to do. I’d rather not have to buy books for some of those prompts because the chance is very big that I won’t like those (and as mentioned I don’t have a library card) I will list which prompts per month I finished and which book I read for it.

I’ve been keeping track of this challenge at the front of my book journal. I numbered them so I can note down easier which book I read for which prompt.  I also changed some things. The one with a book set in my town I changed to country. There was little chance I was going to find a book set in my hometown that I would actually want to read. There aren’t that many fantasy books set in my country so I thought that was a nice challenge as well.

January
A book with more than 500 pages – The Lost Hero (Heroes of Olympus 1) by Rick Riordan
A book you can finish in a day – The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman. Illustrated by Chris Riddell
A trilogy – His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman
A book set in the future – Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles 3,5) by Marissa Meyer
A book you own but have never read – The Burning Man by Tad Williams
A book that takes place in your hometown country – Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt
A book that was originally written in a different language – Corona by Thomas Thiemeyer

February
A book by a female author – Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell
A book with a one-word title – Otherbound by Corinne Duyvis
A nonfiction book – Cities of Blood by Peter Ackroyd
A book by an author you’ve never read before – Seraphina (Seraphina 1) by Rachel Hartman

March
A book published this year – Shadow Scale (Seraphina 2) by Rachel Hartman
A book set in a different country – The Restorer (The Graveyard Queen 1) by Amanda Stevens
A book at the bottom of your to-read list – Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy 5) by Richelle Mead
A book more than 100 years old – Rip van Winkle, the Legend of Sleepy Hollow and Other Stories by Washington Irving

April
A book that became a movie – The Maze Runner (The Maze Runner 1) by James Dashner
A book with nonhuman characters – Ptolemy’s Gate (Bartimaeus 3) by Jonathan Stroud
A book of short stories – The Complete Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
A book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet – The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
A book with bad reviews – The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen
A book with color in the title – Blue Magic (Astrid Lethewood 2) by A.M. Dellamonica
A book with magic – De Erfenis van Richard Grenville (De Verborgen Universiteit 1) by Natalie Koch

May
A book with a number in the title – The 100 (The Hundred 1) by Kass Morgan
A popular author’s first book – Shadow and Bone (The Grisha 1) by Leigh Bardugo
A book a friend recommended – Ruby Red (Precious Stone 1) by Kerstin Gier
A book set in high school – The Poison Princess (The Arcana Chronicles 1) by Kresley Cole

June
A book written by someone under 30 – The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer 1) by Michelle Hodkin (not sure if she is but I can’t find her birth year, but she looks like she is under 30, so that is a compliment to her, haha)
A graphic novel – The Promise volume 1 (from Avatar: The Last Airbender)

Total
28/50

Suggestions
Now there are a few that I am struggling with finding something for. Maybe some of you have suggestions for me? I would prefer most of these to be attached to fantasy if possible.

A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t. Here in the Netherlands we don’t really have a reading list. There are only a few books that are assigned reading material. Maybe 3 or 4, and I read them all. So I was thinking of maybe picking a book from other countries high school reading list. Any suggestions?

A memoir and A book based on a true story.  I can’t remember reading one before and I have no idea what to look at

A book that came out the year you were born. I was born in 1987.

A book written by an author with your same initials. Mine are A.O. I can also possibly play with my middle names though if I have to be creative which would be T.M.

Any help would be appreciated!

8 thoughts on “Popsugar 2015 Reading Challenge – Half Way Point

  1. Ik heb laatst Ontvoerd gelezen van Arjan Erkel, die vond ik zelf heel goed. Het gaat over zijn ervaringen toen hij tijdens zijn werk voor Artsen zonder Grenzen werd ontvoerd. Ook Orange is the New Black is best goed, begint echter een beetje saai. A Woman doing Life is zo ongeveer hetzelfde. Die van OJ Simpson is ook leuk (How I did it), zo tegenstrijdig dat je je afvraagt Hoe iemand dit verhaal ooit heeft kunnen geloven.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ik zal nog eens kijken. Ik vind deze voornamelijk lastig omdat het zo ver buiten mijn leesinteresse ligt. Ik wil geen boeken lezen waarbij ik van te voren al weet dat het mij niet zal trekken. Al klinkt die van Arjan Erkel dan nog wel interessant.

      Like

  2. Ik kan in mijn boekenlijst niets met A.O. vinden. Ik heb wel Shatter Me van Tahereh Mafi, of De Slag om Bladzijde 37 van Tosca Menten (Kinderboekenweekgeschenk).
    En Sissy: based on a true story.
    Je kunt altijd nog de hele Max Havelaar lezen (wij moesten op school er een gedeelte van lezen).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, they are. Mostly because some lead me very far away from books that interest me to read me. I don’t think it’s bad to read books that are very far out of my comfort zone, but they should still interest me and I don’t think they will in some cases. But, yes it does make you think. 🙂

      How is your challenge faring?

      Like

Leave a Reply

