top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday #6

top ten tuesdayWe are about halfway through the year, and so this week’s topic for Top Ten Tuesday, as always created by The Broke and the Bookish, is spot on. Top ten books I’ve read in 2015 so far. So far I’ve read 60+ book so I’m sure I’ll get to 10.

Let’s get this list started. As always the links will lead you to the books Goodreads page.

1. Seraphina (Seraphina 1) by Rachel Hartman – 4,5 stars
I am so happy with this book. I just want to hug it all day, every day. I love the writing and the characters

2. Shadow Scale (Seraphina 2) by Rachel Hartman – 5 stars
I seemed to love Shadow Scale even more than Seraphina.

3. Ptolemy’s Gate (Bartimaeus 3) by Jonathan Stroud – 5 stars
Bartimaeus and Nathaniel will remain favorite characters forever. This series makes me laugh and cry. I never know if I should hug or smack Nathaniel. I am sad it is over.

4. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman – 5 stars
Different from the above books as the chapters were almost more written as short stories, but it touched me.

5. De Erfenis van Richard Grenville (De Verborgen Universiteit 1) by Natalie Koch – 4,5 stars
This book is only out in Dutch, but I heavily recommend it to those that can read it. I loved it and I can’t wait until I can get my hands on the second one.

6. The Mark of Athena (Heroes of Olympus 3) by Rick Riordan – 4,5 stars
Though I loved and enjoyed the entire series, this one is my favorite. The groups finally come together. They get to know each other and we get Annabeth’s perspective.

7. Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Book Store by Robin Sloan – 4 stars
This is just a quick read that endeared me.

8. Legend (Legend 1) by Marie Lu – 4 stars
Dystopia without any fantasy elements is generally a hard genre for me as there is very little that I tend to like. So liking this story was somewhat of a surprise for me.

9. Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt – 4 stars
Another book by a Dutch author I read early this year. This is a true horror story with supernatural elements, but it felt so real. The ending is disturbing, and I will warn you, it will stay with you for a long time.

10. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer 1) by Michelle Hodkin – 4 stars
A recent read that I really enjoyed.

Other honourable mentions are: Shadow and Bone (The Grisha 1) by Leigh Bardugo, Ruby Red (Precious Stone 1) by Kerstin Gier, The Complete Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Otherbound by Corinne Duyvis.

What are your top ten reads of 2015 so far?

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #6

  1. Seraphina was also a favorite of mine the year I read it. I also loved the Bartimaeus Trilogy (OMG that ending!) and The Graveyard Book, I read them before I started my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Seraphina is so great.
      The ending of Ptolemy’s Gate, just ugh. Not okay, Jonathan Stroud! I kept putting of reading it (for years) because I feared it wouldn’t live up to my feelings of The Golem’s Eye. Luckily it did.

      Like

  2. Great list!! I love the Mara Dyer trilogy and Mark of Athena was my favorite of the series, too. I still have to read the other books you’ve listed here. Shadow and Bone was fantastic, the second book was my favorite. I read Ruby Red a while back and I enjoyed it too. I still have to read the rest of the trilogy.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I LOVED SERAPHINA. It was amazing. I haven’t read Shadow Scale yet, sadly. The Mark of Athena and Legend are also both fabulous books.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

