Book Tags

Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

So Erika from Erika in Bookventureland did this tag recently (originally created by TheBookArcher), and she left it open to us readers to see if we wanted to do this tag. Since I find this tag interesting I’ve decided to do it. Now as the name of the tag suggests, this post will be about my unpopular opinions on books. We all have our own opinions and views on books and the characters. Which makes things fun. Can you imagine how boring the world would be if we all agreed on everything, especially books? So please accept that these are my opinions.

* Also be aware that there is a chance at spoilers at some of these questions as some questions do ask about couples at the end of series and such.

Now lets get to the questions/topics!

the queen of the tearlingA popular book or series you didn’t like

So many contenders for this. But I’m going to settle on The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen. The more I think about this book, the more I want to rant about it. It just did not work for me at all, and I had a lot of trouble getting into the story and the main character. There were some negative reviews at first, but lately I’ve been seeing an increase on positive reviews on my Goodreads timeline of people loving the book.

A popular book or series that everyone seems to hate, but you love

This is difficult. It has to be popular too? Let’s see. I guess The Magicians by Lev Grossman. I don’t know many people that have loved this book. I read it years ago, loved it and when I think about it there is a song in my head that I listened to on repeat when I read it. I do understand why others don’t like this book. Quentin is such a whiner to follow at the start, haha. I’ll be rereading this book this Summer I hope.

indigo springsA love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with OR an OTP that you didn’t like *

Most people won’t know this couple but Will x Astrid in Blue Magic (Astrid Lethewood 2) by A.M. Dellamonica. I am NOT okay with this. I was a very big Jacks x Astrid supporter. I wanted those two to end up together. Instead I get this in the second book. Not okay. First book is Indigo Springs by the way, and as I prefer that cover, that is the one I am showing.

A popular book genre you hardly reach for

Contemporaries. I tend to have a hard time with contemporaries. Fantasy worlds suck me right in. But contemporaries hardly ever draw me in. They also tend to have a lot of the things I hate in romance. So I tend to stay far away from this genre.

A popular or beloved character that you do not like

Chaol from Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. This is a very unpopular opinion. He just is not the kind of character that I’m drawn to. He is too bland for me. Too straight arrow and too serious.

fangirlsA popular author you can’t seem to get into

Rainbow Rowell. Contemporaries as said earlier are hard for me, but after seeing all the reviews, even from those that read a lot of fantasy like me, I thought I would give her ago. I expected to like her. However I read Fangirl and thought it was just okay. I also got Eleanor & Park, and didn’t like it at all. So I think she isn’t going to be for me.

A popular book trope you are tired of seeing

All of them? Unless well done or twisted a litle, I’m sick of them all to be honest. Especially in the romance department. The love triangles. The miscommunications. The I know something important about you but I know what is best for you so I will keep it from you. The instant love. The always super attractive in detailed described love interest, after just one glance.

acotarA popular series that you have no interest in reading

Only the first book is out but A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. I just have no interest in it. The only interesting thing is that cover. Nothing in the synopsis sounds appealing to me at the moment.

The saying goes, ‘the book is always better than the movie,’ but what movie or T.V. show adaption do you prefer more than the book

The Hunger Games. I was one of the few that did not enjoy reading this series. But I saw the first movie and I enjoyed it a lot more. I felt the idea translated better on screen than on the page.

Now as for the tagging part, I am tagging Myrthe from Books around the World, Bookwormaniac, and everyone else that wants to do this.

4 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. I totally understand your opinion about contemporaries, I just can’t deal with the ridiculous romance parts either. Though I do like it when the main focus isn’t romance. And I do like romance when it’s not contemporary, just to make things complicated πŸ˜›
    I’ll see if I can get this up for next Monday. Had to figure out something to post anyway πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

