reviews

Book Review – Prodigy

This post can contain spoilers for the first book of the series, Legend.

prodigyBook: Prodigy (Legend 2) by Marie Lu
Release Date: January 29th 2013
Genre: Dystopia
Reading Format: Paperback
Edition: Dutch edition by Gottmer
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Synopsis

Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games?

Review

Prodigy starts off a few days after the end of Legend, and is overall a solid sequel to Legend. Like the first book the point of view switches between June and Day. They are still easily distinguishable. It also keeps the book reasonable fast paced, and I like that this book isn’t much larger than the first book (which is something you do often seen in ya series these days). I also got some of my questions answered regarding the history of the Republic, though I wish that in Day’s case it had not been such an info dump.

June is a character I really started liking throughout this book. Maybe this is because I recognized some of her in myself. She also questioned her feelings towards Day throughout the book. She knows she feels strongly for him, but she is reluctant to title it as love as they’ve only known each other for a month. And I like that. It is something I miss often in other books with similar situations.

Where in Legend I felt Day took more centre stage in the book, in this book I felt that June did this. Day didn’t stand out as much as he did in Legend, though he is still the same character. His presence became stronger near the ending. I do hope he gets a tad bit more deepened out in the next novel in the new role he will play there.

Kaede’s addition was interesting. I’m not entirely sure I liked her, but she did add something to the story. Maybe her role was a tad bit too convenient in the ending.

I’ve been doubting my initial rating of four stars however as there are some things here that I do have some issues with. I’m keeping it four stars for now though as I have grown to liking the characters and their relationship.

One thing that stuck out like a sore thumb to me was the double love triangle that was going on. Day has one as does June. Where June’s is somewhat important to the plot and the role she had to play, Day’s love triangle added nothing and felt unnecessary. Tess’s character felt butchered for the sake of this added in love triangle.

Day also had a weakness at the start of the novel. Part of me feels that this was too neatly solved, leaving him better than ever. I kind of wish that there would have been more trouble for him in there to adjust to what happened. I think that could have been interesting.

This all means nothing compared to those last two chapters. I do not agree with this addition to the plot or how it is being handled (and how it is hinted at being handled in the next novel) by use of miscommunication in their relationship by keeping information from one of them. I understand the set-up as it is clear that the author wants June to go in a certain direction, but I can’t help but wonder if there could not have been another way.

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Prodigy

Leave a Reply

