various

Reading Goals 2015

At the start of this year I have set myself some reading goals or bookish goals. I like to challenge myself with reading, especially now that I’m home a lot. It is just fun to work towards something. And especially for those of us that have big physical TBR piles, it can be fun to challenge yourself to get through them. I also like lists, and I find it fullfilling to be able to check something off.

I know it is now mid May, but I thought it would be good to repeat these here as I will refer to some of these in my monthly wrap-ups. I will show how far I am with most of these during each monthly wrap-up.

1. Read more by Dutch authors in the fantasy genre, one a month if possible. Minimum 12 books.
Last year I realized I was reading nothing by Dutch authors. I thought that was a shame, because I am Dutch. However I am not always appealed by what is mainstream Dutch literature I suppose. I read mostly fantasy so it does ask of me to search quite a bit for good books.

I’m a bit behind on this goal, but the books I’ve read so far for this goal have been great. Authors were: Natalie Koch, Corinne Duyvis and Thomas Olde Heuvelt.

2. Read 100 books. That is about 8-9 books a month, so 2 a week.
Last year I read 70+ books. This is mostly to challenge myself. Hundred is such a nice round number to work towards. I should be able to manage this with the help of read-a-thon’s. The first few months I had a hard time keeping up, but I read 14 books last month and I read a nice number so far this month. By the way I do count most rereads for this. This year in any case. Maybe I won’t do that next year.

3. Read all owned books of series you have started.
This goal I have specified more in March. Initially it was more open. I have written down the books I had started of series in 2014 (and the first 2 months of 2015) and that I own other books of that I had not yet read. This can mean that I can finish this series, I can catch up to this series, or that I just read all the books I own of a series. I have a tencency to start a series, and get side tracked by other ones.

The amount of series I came to was 19 of which I own 34 books unread. That is quite a bit. I won’t post the whole list here. I don’t think that is very interesting. But I will mention in my monthly wrap-ups what I read towards this goal.

4. PopSugar Ultimate 2015 Reading Challenge
Like many readers I found the PopSugar Ultimate 2015 Reading Challenge which you can find here. It is a list with reading prompts that you can try finding a fitting book for. For instance a book by a female author. I won’t mention this every montly wrap-up, but I will likely make a post about it at the halfway point.

So what reading goals did you give yourself at the start of the year and how are you doing so far?

One thought on “Reading Goals 2015

Leave a Reply

